7. Fiddleheads and daffodils oh my

Spring is well and truly sprung the day the fiddleheads first show up at the market. Today was that day.
I do love me a fern frond, especially when it’s been pan fried in a little olive oil and dressed with a generous squeeze of lemon juice. The fish cakes are adapted from the Joy of Cooking’s Salmon Croquettes recipe, with mackerel instead of salmon, milk instead of cream, and duck fat instead of butter.    

Mackerel Croquettes for 1 adapted from The Joy of Cooking

Combine in a bowl:

  • 2 cooked mackerel fillets, mashed
  • 4 cooked mini potatoes, mashed (about 1/2 cup)
  • a splash of milk (just enough to be absorbed by the potatoes)
  • chopped fresh parsely, chives and dill, if you have any (I didn’t)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Spread in separate shallow bowls:

  • 1/3 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1/3 cup flour

Whisk an egg in a third shallow bowl

Shape the fish mixture into patties (about an inch in diameter). One at a time, coat each patty with flour, dip it in the egg, then coat it in breadcrumbs.

Heat 1-2tbsps butter (or duck fat if you’ve got it) in a skillet and fry the patties till golden brown, about 2 minutes per side.  Serve with lemon wedges and mayonnaise (just in case you still need *more* fat).

But just in case the springliness of the fiddleheads wasn’t enough, I also saw my first daffodils of the season today. I’m convinced.

5 Comments

Filed under home, recipe

5 responses to “7. Fiddleheads and daffodils oh my

  1. omg those fernfronds look delicious. i thought only people from new zealand knew to eat them!

    • And I thought they were a uniquely St. Lawrence Valley/New England thing. I’d never heard of them until I moved to Montreal.
      But apparently they are everywhere. Amanda saw them at the farmer’s market in Portland this week.

  2. Rachel

    I love your blog! The photos (Daffies!) are so cheerful 😀

    • It’s still pretty brown around here, so I’m fixating on every splash of colour I can find. I only wish daffodils smelled as lovely as they look.

Leave a Reply

