black gold

I spent a very happy hour or so this afternoon harvesting a winter’s worth of compost from my worm bin. I wound up with about 2 gallons for my troubles and also made the discovery that my worms really, really don’t care for sweet potato peels. I must have had about 5 potatoes worth of peels by the end. They’ve all been transfered to the conventional compost bin – hopefully the microbes won’t be so picky.

Now that I’ve got the worm bin compost harvested, it’s time to get serious about gardening. I’ve got various little sprouts growing from seed that need to be potted up, and tomorrow morning I’m heading to the nursery with my neighbours to indulge in some flats of annuals and the veggies I haven’t got started myself.

But for tonight, I’m happy just to sit here in the twilight, enjoying the scent of my next door neighbour’s lilac tree wafting past on the breeze.

Sweet dreams.

Leave a comment

Filed under gardening, home

Leave a Reply

