impromptu morning hike

With the sun rising a little after 5am these days, I’m generally awake and walking the dogs by 6am. It’s lovely to be up and out while the neighbourhood is still quite quiet and the temperature and humidity are still low. I don’t go out to the office that often in the summer, but when I do, it’s nicest to do it first thing in the morning, so I can be done my workday by 1 or 2pm. 

So this morning I set off at 7:12, well-breakfasted, happy with my outfit for the day, and generally feeling pretty pleased with myself for being in transit so early. As I went to get on the bus, I suddenly remembered it was now July and I would need a new transit pass for the month. The driver was in a good mood, so he waved me through. Fair enough, I’d be able to get my new pass at the subway where I transfer to my second bus, so I got on board.

About 18 minutes later, we pulled into Vendome, I got off, and headed down into the metro to queue up for the automatic guichet. The line was moving quickly enough (it seems like people have got used to the new rfid cards, finally), so I figured I’d best get prepared by having my fare card and my bank card ready. Unfortunately, I quickly discovered that I did not have my bank card with me. I’d managed to leave my wallet sitting on the kitchen counter, where it wasn’t remotely useful.

Sigh.

So obviously I wasn’t going to be buying my July pass and continuing on to the office. But just as obviously, I couldn’t jump on the subway or a bus to head back home, since I didn’t have even two cents to pay my fare. I suppose I could have tried to talk the turnstile operator into letting me through, but there were about 20 people waiting in line to get through and I wasn’t optimistic anyone would take pity on me.

So all that was left was to turn around and walk back home. Thankfully, it was a beautiful morning, and the walk is perfectly pleasant, passing along the Glen:

Through St. Henri along the train tracks:

Past a little meadow filled with butterflies:

Along Notre Dame, home of my favourite roti place

Down Atwater, where workers were just setting up at the Atwater Market:

Across the Lachine Canal:

And under the 20 along Lasalle Blvd:

From where it was a mere hop, skip and jump to get home at 8:50.  The whole walk took only 1hr, which was pretty good. And if I hadn’t managed to tip my mug of tea over inside my handbag while attempting to take the picture of the butterflies (don’t ask), and if I’d been wearing more appropriate shoes, and not feeling like a moron, it would have been an utterly delightful way to start the day.

As it is, I’m glad to be home with no more damage than a small blister on my heel and slightly wounded pride. We’ll see if I can get it right tomorrow.

2 Comments

Filed under travel

2 responses to “impromptu morning hike

  1. apalaisy

    I laughed when I first read this, and then had to go do something, and forgot to come back and comment. At least it looks like you had a really pretty walk!

  2. Rachel

    >>And if I hadn’t managed to tip my mug of tea over inside my >>handbag while attempting to take the picture of the >>butterflies (don’t ask)

    LOL!!! I mean, ooops.

    Thank you for sharing your pretty pictures!

Leave a Reply

