Snow!

On Saturday we got our first little taste of winter – it snowed all day, but it was so wet that the next morning there was just a wee dusting of snow on the ground.

Enough snow to wet the appetite and make it actually seem like December after a November that often felt more like September. The weekend snow stayed around – we actually had 3 days in a row with temps below 0. I had a couple fun days of biking to work with snow on the ground (but not on the roads) for the first time in 11 years (the winter of 98 I rode all winter long. I was 23 and not yet entirely convinced of my own mortality.).

But this morning, we woke to this.

Now that’s snow! Nearing noon now, it’s still snowing and looks set to continue all afternoon. It’s very wet snow – which makes for very messy roads, but also plenty of snowmen opportunities (I saw two on my way to work).

Definitely no temptation to bike this morning, walking was enough of an adventure. The major temptation was to stay home and curl up on my couch with the beasties and wrap my outsides around some hot apple cider and spend the day watching the snow in front of the windows get higher and higher. But I resisted and left the critters to keep the couch warm without me.

1 Comment

Filed under home, travel, winter

One response to “Snow!

  1. Rachel

    Hopefully the pussycat is not in the snowdrift but rather warm on the couch!

Leave a Reply

